Movement I - Real Light

Movement II - Departure Points

Hugh Sheehan - Composer, Ensemble Director, Diatonic Button Accordion, Electronics

Miia Palomäki - Violin
Iida Savolainen - Viola, Vocals
Joasia Cieslak - Cello
Heli Hartikainen - Alto Saxophone
Sann Salonen - Bass Clarinet
Petra Poutanen-Hurme - Vocals
Mirva Soininen - Vocals
Jutta Rahmel - Kantele, Vocals
Okko Saastamoinen - Vibraphone, Drums
Lukas Kristo - Harmonium
Kaj Mäki-Ullakko - Electronics
Andrea Mancianti - Electronics

Acts of Discovery was premiered on 31.10.2017 at Musiikkitalo, Helsinki

“In my electronics, I work with an instrumental principle… They become my friends. They have personalities that only I see, because of my use of them. It’s an act of discovery. I try to find out what’s there and not to make it do what I want but to, you know, release what’s there.”

David Tudor, 1989

score sample